new/old/disclaimer/notes/mail/profile/private/other

Unbelievable destruction
2005-09-13 @ 1:39 p.m.

I've spent the past week witnessing the results of the disaster in New Orleans. We came down here a week ago, and I think today's the first normal hot shower I've had since. I consider myself lucky though, after all that I've witnessed.


We drove to Mississippi to get away from it all for the night, to just regroup and refocus. The atmosphere in NO is so harsh, so depressing, and yet the people of that city have a spirit like no other. We came to help out, to offer what we could and do what we can to make things a little easier. The number of volunteers here is mind blowing, however they grow smaller each day. It's as if people believe the worst is over and they can go back to their normal lives, but that's far from the truth.


It's not over, not nearly over, and so much more is needing to be done. I know this is where I'm supposed to be. I've done more for people this last week than I have my entire life. For some reason, through it all, I know I was supposed to be here, at this time.


In silent awe I watch her do things the common folk couldn't possibly do. The money she has brought in amazes me, just from being here. In a way I'm envious, as her attention is always needed elsewhere. But in so many other ways that's all irrelevant, because of what it is we're doing here.


After tonight we go back, spending more time doing whatever it is we can do. I fear it's never enough, and the beloved city will never be as it once was, but I'm hoping I will have some small part in making it the place it will become.


My memories are always intact. This city is my heart and soul in many ways. Even as it is now, I feel closer to this place than any other.


Fatigue settling in, I will crash now, and go back stronger for another week. I think we'll be staying as long as possible. And if she can't, because I know she has other commitments, this is where you'll find me. In the heart of New Orleans.

- - 2009-02-16
- - 2009-01-22
Money Troubles - 2008-10-31
Missing - 2008-09-27
- - 2008-05-26

My Past with No Future